WIAA names 2018 football seeding committee members

Oct 11, 2018

The Washington Interscholastic Activities Association (WIAA) has named the members of its Football Seeding Committee for the 2018 season.

Among the local members selected for the 3A/4A committee are current Snohomish High School athletic director Mark Perry, current Oak Harbor head coach Jay Turner and former Eastside Catholic athletic director/head coach William Marsh.

Sultan head coach Jim Wright, Lakewood head coach Dan Teeter were selected to the 1A/2A committee.

The committees will be seeding the 16 teams in each Classification for the state football championships.

Teams will still qualify for the playoffs through the district allocation system and the committee will have no bearing upon which teams qualify for the state tournament.

Once the field is determined, the seeding committee will rank and place teams in the first round of the bracket based on their performance throughout the regular season and playoffs.

This system will replace the draw system, which has been used in previous seasons.

The committee is scheduled to meet at the conclusion of Week 10 to assign seeding position.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.