Wesco, Cascade Conference All-league teams announced | Sports brief

By Megan Managan | Mar 03, 2014

The Wesco and Cascade conference recently announced the 2013-2014 All-League teams.

All-League teams are voted on by coaches in the conference.

Edmonds-Woodway senior Jason Smarr was named to the first team, while teammate Travis Bakken was named to the second team.

Meadowdale's Barrett Carlow earned honorable mention in the Wesco 3A league.

In 4A girls basketball, Edmonds-Woodway senior Sidney Eck and Moni Jackson, a junior, were both named to the second team.

From Meadowdale, in the 3A girls category, Ndey Sonko and Mackenzie Bretz both earned honorable mention.

For King's High School, Corey Kispert earned first team honors in boys basketball, while teammate and brother Calvin Kispert was named to the second team.

Head coach Rick Skeen was named the coach of the year in the conference.

In girls basketball, Savanna Hanson was named to the first team, with Karly Hibbard and Daylee Hanson named to the second team.

King's girls head coach Dan Taylor was named the coach of the year, along with Cedarcret's Brad Knowles.

Wesco wrestling All-League honors went to: Nathan Vulliet from Edmonds-Woodway and Ciaran Ball and Tim Smith from Meadowdale, along with Dee Dee Free.

In boys swimming, All-Wesco honors went to Alex Nguyenle for the 100 butterfly and 100 breaststroke. Meadowdale's Chris Flynn was honored for the 100 butterfly.

If you know of a local athlete earning honors, please contact Megan Managan at reporter@yourbeacon.net.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.