One race, 3 candidates, that is all

Edmonds residents can fill out their primary ballot in record time
By Brian Soergel | Jul 28, 2017

If you live in Edmonds, you might be excused for thinking there was nothing to vote for in the primary election Tuesday, Aug. 1.

Almost. But there is one race on the ballot, for director of District 4 in the Edmonds School District. Incumbent director Susan Phillips decided not to run for re-election; vying for her seat are Cindy Sackett of Edmonds and Cathy Baylor and Deborah Kilgore of Lynnwood.

The race is on your primary ballot because there are three candidates. As with the rest of the races Tuesday, the two who receive the most votes move on to the general election Nov. 7.

As the school board is the only one with more than two candidates, your ballot has a lot of white space.

Wait a minute, you might say. Aren’t there four challengers who filed to challenge David Chan, a commissioner for Fire District 1, which serves Edmonds? Yes, there are. They are P. Bret Chiafalo, Michael Ellis and Brandon Richards, all from Lynnwood, and Everett resident Brandy Donaghy.

But although the winner will make decisions that affect you, you cannot vote for them.

“Only voters within the boundaries of the fire district elect commissioners,” said Leslie Hynes, spokeswoman for FD1. “The cities of Edmonds, Brier and Mountlake Terrace do not fall within the boundaries of the fire district so residents in these cities do not elect fire district commissioners. Each city receives services from Fire District 1 under a contract negotiated by its city leaders and approved by its city elected officials.”

Edmonds signed a contract with FD1 in 2010, which it extended last year.

“Some cities – Shoreline is an example – are actually within the boundaries of a fire district,” Hynes said. “In Shoreline’s case, the fire district was established prior to the city, so when Shoreline incorporated, the city decided to stay within the boundaries for the fire district and for the fire district to continue providing service within city limits.

“Other times, cities annex into fire districts as an alternative to operating a city fire department. In these cases, city residents vote for fire commissioners because their city is within the fire district boundaries.”

Just so you know, here’s a recap of other local races not on the primary ballot. You’ll just have to wait three months to check these boxes.

All three incumbent councilmembers whose terms expire at the end of the year – Kristiana Johnson, Mike Nelson and Adrienne Fraley-Monillas – filed for re-election.

Johnson is up against challenger Josh Thompson for the Position 1 seat. Thompson served as legislative aide to Snohomish County Councilmember Stephanie Wright – who represents District 3, which includes Edmonds – for five years.

Nelson was appointed to council seat Position 2 vacated by Strom Peterson, who would go on to win a seat in the state Legislature representing the 21st District. He does not face a challenger.

Position 3 incumbent Fraley-Monillas faces a challenge from local activist Al Rutledge, who has run for City Council several times in the past. He last ran for the position Nelson was appointed to.

There are three four-year commissioner positions open at the Port of Edmonds. Angela Harris of Edmonds will challenge incumbent Fred Gouge in District 1; former Edmonds City Councilmember Lora Petso of Edmonds will challenge Bruce Fairies in District 3; and Susan Paine of Edmonds will challenge incumbent Steven Johnston for commissioner at large, Position 5.

Edmonds Municipal Court incumbent Linda Coburn does not face a challenge for another four-year term.

There is one seat open on the Olympic View Water and Sewer District. Incumbent Mike Harrigan did not file for re-election for Position 3. Those filing for that six-year term were Steve Howard and Fanny Yee, both from Edmonds.

Two incumbents in Snohomish County Health District 2, also known as the Verdant Health Commission, will run unopposed for new six-year terms: Deanna Knutsen for Position 1 and Karianna Wilson for Position 3.



Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.