New cookbooks, children's books and gift books | Fresh Reads

By David Brewster | Nov 20, 2018
Courtesy of: Bloomsbury Publishing “A Baker's Life: 100 Fantastic Recipes, from Childhood Bakes to Five-star Excellence,” by Paul Hollywood

Rounding out Fresh Read’s coverage of new and recent books, here is a selection of some of the season’s best cookbooks, children’s books and gift books.

All are currently available in the store as well as online at https://edmondsbookshop.indielite.org/, and several are featured in our annual Holiday Catalog, coming soon.

Summaries are from me and from staff.

Cookbooks


“A Baker's Life: 100 Fantastic Recipes, from Childhood Bakes to Five-star Excellence,” by Paul Hollywood, $36

Susan: A key personality on “The Great British Baking Show,” Paul Hollywood offers 100 of his best recipes, with clear step-by-step instructions. The book includes glimpses of his life as a baker from his father’s knee to his time in the Middle East to his hit BBC television series.

“The Complete Mediterranean Cookbook: 500 Vibrant, Kitchen-Tested Recipes for Living and Eating Well Every Day,” by America’s Test Kitchen, $32.99

Ron: Forget all your latest fad diets – America’s Test Kitchen advocates, we follow the Mediterranean diet. This is the perfect cookbook through which to assimilate and adopt flavorful and healthy ways of cooking and eating, containing a compendium of recipes from Spain, Lebanon, Italy, Morocco and points all around the Mediterranean.

”Forks Over Knives: Flavor!: Delicious, Whole-Food, Plant-Based Recipes to Cook Every Day, by Darshana Thacker, $29.99”

Michelle: From the popular documentary film, magazine, website and cooking school comes Forks Over Knives’ latest cookbook, offering 150 delicious, all-new, easy-to-prepare whole-food, plant-based recipes for internationally inspired meals, from salads, mains to desserts.

“Ottolenghi Simple: A Cookbook,” by Yotam Ottolenghi, $35

Mary Kay (and David): The esteemed chef, restaurateur and food writer has already won us over with his memorable and always flavorful recipes from earlier books such as “Plenty” and “Jerusalem.” His latest delivers dozens of easy-to-prepare dishes using a small number of ingredients and simple techniques that will result in mighty tasty meals.

”Whole Bowls: Complete Gluten-Free and Vegetarian Meals to Power Your Day,” by Allison Day, $24.99

MIchelle: These are really good, easier to prepare recipes, and the cookbook is all the more valuable since it’s impossible to find something with both kinds of recipes in it – very substitution-friendly as well.

“36 Bottles of Wine,” by Paul Zitarelli, $19.95

David: This handy guide to wine and seasonal food from local author Zitarelli is premised on a simple idea – three wines are recommended for each month of the year, along with a signature monthly meal complete with recipes. Each wine is described in full, along with mouth-watering photographs and informative asides on how we taste wine, stemware advice and serving temperatures.

Children’s books


”Adrian Simcox Does NOT Have a Horse,” by Marcy Campbell and Corinna Luyken, $17.99, ages 3- 5

Michelle: Beautifully illustrated picture book about a boy and his wonderfully imaginative world, especially when a reluctant classmate begins to see Adrian’s world, too.

”All Right Already!: A Snowy Story,” by Jory John & Benji Davies, $17.99, ages 4-8

Michelle: All Duck wants to do is help his friend Bear when the first snow has fallen. That's what neighbors are for.

”Archie and the Bear,” by Zanni Louise and David Mackintosh, $17.99, ages 4-8

Michelle: A lovely picture story of a bear who thinks he's a boy and a boy who thinks he's a bear. But that doesn't really matter. It's all about who you say you are.

”Time for Bed, Miyuki,” by Roxane Marie Galliez, Seng Soun Ratanavanh, $17.95, ages 4-8

Susan: Beautifully illustrated, this is a warm and lovely bedtime book that encourages a young girl to sleep, despite her active imagination.

“Wildcard “(Warcross #2), by Marie Lu, $18.99, ages 12 and up

Michelle: The sequel to “Warcross” is every bit as exciting as the first entry in this series. For all those readers who enjoyed “The Hunger Games and “Divergent” series.

Gift books

”A Big Important Art Book (Now with Women): Profiles of Unstoppable Female Artists – and Projects to Help You Become One!,” by Danielle Krysa, $25

Michelle: This beautiful book energizes and empowers women, both artists and amateurs alike, by providing them with projects and galvanizing stories to ignite their creative fires. Become unstoppable.

”Flora of the Pacific Northwest: An Illustrated Manual,” by C. Leo Hitchcock and Arthur Cronquist, $75

Mary Kay: This completely revised and updated edition that students rely on as an essential primer, while veteran botanists use it as the definitive reference for the region's flora.

”The Great American Read: The Book of Books: Explore America's 100 Best-Loved Novels,” by PBS, $29.99

Mary Kay: An ideal gift for the well-read, this companion volume to the popular PBS series is gorgeously illustrated and examines each of America’s 100 best-loved novels in detail, including notes on the authors, the books’ social and political contexts, and other surprising facts. Also included are articles on banned books, best first lines and lots more.

 

 

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.