Mukilteo orchestra to perform spring concert May 18

May 14, 2014
Matthew Charles Weiss

The Mukilteo Community Orchestra will present its spring concert titled “Sounds of Spring” at 2 p.m. on Sunday, May 18 at the Rosehill Community Center.

The first half of program features “La Primavera” (Spring) from Antonio Vivaldi’s “Four Seasons;” “Two Pieces for Small Orchestra” by Frederick Delius, including “On Hearing the First Cuckoo in Spring” and “Summer Night on the River;” and Alexander Glazunov’s “Ballade, Op. 78.”

The second half of the program is devoted to Georges Bizet’s “L’Arlésienne Suite No. 1” and Suite No. 2.”

Matthew Charles Weiss will perform the violin solo in Vivaldi’s “Concerto No. 1 in E Major, Op. 8” of “La Primavera” from “Four Seasons.”

Weiss is concertmaster and president of the Octava Chamber Orchestra, first violinist of the Trio Con Brio, concertmaster of the Seattle Bach Cantata Society and assistant concertmaster of the Lake Union Civic Orchestra.

“The program features several enchanting offerings, selected to highlight a wide range of music which bring to mind a lightness and airiness of spring time,” said art director and conductor Trevor Lutzenheser.

“In Vivaldi’s ‘Spring,’ we are reminded of a spring shower during a pleasant sunny afternoon in the first movement, followed by napping shepherds, barking dogs and buzzing insects in the second movement and a happy dance with string basses emulating bagpipes in the pastoral third movement.”

Pre-concert music will be performed by the Sound View Horn Trio at 1:15 p.m. The trio is composed of Daniel Kavanagh, Frank Koenig and David Watson. Koenig and Watson are members of the Mukilteo Community Orchestra.

Rosehill Community Center is at 304 Lincoln Ave. in Mukilteo. Admission is free. Additional information can be found at

The mission of the Mukilteo Community Orchestra is to provide performance and educational opportunities for local musicians to create integrative musical experiences for the community.

-Edited by Beacon staff

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.