Knights earn all-North Sound Conference spring recognition

Jun 20, 2019
Courtesy of: Steve Hammond King’s Pierce Papke clears a hurdle at the 1A state track and field championships.

Seven King’s players earned North Sound Conference boys soccer honors.

Gunnar Morehead was named Goalkeeper of the Year and Christian Engmann was announced as Defender of the Year.

Also earning first-team honors were midfielders Hiroto Nasu and Christof Rosler, forward Jack McCallister and defenders Ram Deo-Campo Voung and Ian Richards.

King’s Grayson Giboney was named the Boys Golfer of the Year. Teammate Alex Peterson was a first-team honoree.

King’s Jamie Edwards earned first-team, girls golf recognition.

Tyler Durbin was voted co-Offensive MVP for baseball along with Cedar Park Christian’s Cole Fazio. King’s pitcher Issac Hines and outfielder Ethan Elias were voted to the first team.

King’s Pierce Papke (300 hurdles), Casey Needham (javelin), David Zhang (triple jump) and Cody Chew (pole vault) were first-team, boys track and field selections.

King’s Hannah Hawkins (200, 400), Naomi Smith (800, 1,600) Emma Culberson (100 hurdles, 300 hurdles), Emma Storkson (high jump), Maci Hodgins (pole vault), the 4 by 100 relay team of Hannah Carrithers, Hawkins, Hodgins, Kat Kirpatrick and the 800 relay team of Carrithers, Hodgins, Peyton Hammond and Kirkpatrick earned first-team, girls track and field honors.

Boys soccer

First team

Midfielders: Cormac Workman, South Whidbey; Hiroto Nasu, King’s; Christof Rosler, King’s; Aram Leyva, CVHS

Forwards: Diego Hernandez, Sultan; Jack McCallister, King’s

Defenders: Joey Lane, South Whidbey; Thomas Simms, South Whidbey; Miguel Garcia, Sultan; Ram Deo-Campo Voung, King’s; Ian Richards, King’s

Goalkeeper: David Fulga, CPC

Goalkeeper of the Year: Gunnar Morehead, King’s

Defender of the Year: Christian Engmann, King’s

Offensive Player of the Year: Michael Lux, South Whidbey

Coach of the Year: Emerson Robbins, South Whidbey

Boys golf

Golfer of the Year: Grayson Giboney, sr., King’s

First team: Gabe Jacobson-Ross, sr., South Whidbey; Brent DeWolf, sr., South Whidbey; Dane Saxton, jr., South Whidbey; Alex Peterson, soph., King’s

Girls golf

Golfer of the Year: Emma Leggett, sr., South Whidbey

First team: Jamie Edwards, sr., King’s; Tori Schuller, soph., South Whidbey; Alyssa Ludtke, sr., South Whidbey; Hollee Seaward, jr., Sultan


Offensive MVP: Cole Fazio, soph. Cedar Park Christian, Tyler Durbin, jr., King’s

Pitcher of the Year: Ethan Petty, jr., South Whidbey

Coach of the Year: Tom Fallon, South Whidbey

Team sportsmanship: Sultan

First team

Catcher: Jack Gresli, sr., Granite Falls

Pitchers: Issac Hines, sr. King’s; Brandon McClean, sr., Cedar Park Christian

First base: Ben Hann, sr., Cedar Park Christian

Second base: Jensen Lavering, jr., Cedar Park Christian

Third base: Drew Fry, jr., South Whidbey

Shortstop: Kody Newman, sr., South Whidbey

Outfield: London Conard, jr., Cedar Park Christian; Ethan Elias, jr., King’s; Alex Black, jr., South Whidbey

Utility: Michael Doyle, sr., Cedar Park Christian

Boys track and field

First team

300 hurdles-Pierce Papke, sr., King’s; javelin-Casey Needham, jr., King’s; pole vault-Cody Chew, jr., King’s; triple jump-David Zhang, soph., King’s

Girls track and field

First team

200-Hannah Hawkins, fr., King’s; 400-Hannah Hawkins, fr., King’s; 800-Naomi Smith, jr., King’s; 1600-Naomi Smith, jr., King’s; 100 hurdles-Emma Culberson, sr., King’s; 300 hurdles-Emma Culberson, sr., King’s; 4 x 100-Hannah Carrithers, Maci Hodgins, Kat Kirkpatrick, Hannah Hawkins, King’s; 4 x 200: Hannah Carrithers, Maci Hodgins, Peyton Hammond, Kat Kirkpatrick, King’s’; high jump-Emma Storkson, jr., King’s; pole vault-Maci Hodgins, jr., King’s

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.