King’s athletes named to all-league teams

Dec 07, 2017
Photo by: David R Pan King's outside hitter Allison Hansen was a first-team, all-league volleyball selection. She also was the 1A state volleyball tournament MVP.

Four King’s football players earned first-team, all-Cascade Conference honors.

Jace Fransen (wide receiver, kicker), Taylor Schoenfeld (offensive and defensive lineman), Jonathan Chen (defensive back) and Jerad Stretton (linebacker) were voted to the first team by the league coaches.

The Knights’ state champion volleyball team had four players named to the first team.

Tessa Foley was voted the MVP and outside hitter Allison Hansen, outside hitter Dominque Kirton and libero Elle Mason were first-team selections.

Hansen was named the 1A State Tournament MVP and Foley and Mason were first-team tournament selections.

King’s state champion girls soccer team had three first-team selections. Katie Stella was named the Offensive MVP and midfielder Emma Fleming and defender Emma Culberson were first-team honorees.

King’s Cameron Chew earned first team honors in boys cross country and Naomi Smith and Allison Perrow also were first-team selections in girls cross country.

Cascade Conference


Offensive MVP: Kyler Gordon, sr., Archbishop Murphy

Defensive MVP: Ben Hines, sr., Archbishop Murphy

Coach of the Year: Tim Dennis, Granite Falls

First team

Quarterback: Camden Landrum, sr., Granite Falls

Running backs: Zach Wilkins, soph., Cedar Park Christian; Ray Pimentel, sr., Archbishop Murphy

Wide receivers: Errett Turner, sr., Sultan; Jace Fransen, sr., King’s; Rwehabura Munyagi, sr., Archbishop Murphy; Dillon Singh-Halpin, jr., Archbishop Murphy

Offensive linemen: Hunter Chapman, sr., Granite Falls; Killian Boyle, sr., Cedar Park Christian; Taylor Schoenfeld, sr., King’s; Martin Napeahi, sr., Archbishop Murphy; Matthew Keck, sr., Archbishop Murphy

Tight end: Jonny Bell, sr., Cedarcrest

Defensive backs: Alex Perrigo, sr., Sultan; Payton Nelson, sr., Cedar Park Christian; Camden Landrum, sr., Granite Falls; Kyler Gordon, sr., Archbishop Murphy; Jonathan Chen, sr., King’s

Linebackers: Phoenix McGuire, sr., Sultan; Jason He, sr., Cedar Park Christian; Jerad Stretton, sr., King’s; Luke Riojas, jr., Archbishop Murphy

Defensive linemen: Hunter Chapman, sr., Granite Falls; Tyler Shimman, sr., Cedar Park Christian; Taylor Schoenfeld, sr., King’s; Jonny Bell, sr., Cedarcrest; Martin Napeahi, sr., Archbishop Murphy

Kicker: Jace Fransen, sr., King’s

Punter: Phoenix McGuire, sr., Sultan

Second team

Quarterback: Victor Gabalis, soph., Archbishop Murphy

Running backs: Logan Perrigo, sr., King’s; Andrew Buchholz, sr., Granite Falls; Ben Hines, sr., Archbishop Murphy

Wide receivers: John Petrus, fr., Cedar Park Christian; Cordaro Rivas, sr., Sultan; Levi Bundrant, sr., King’s; Brennon Blevins, sr., King’s

Offensive line: Liam Schenfeld, jr., Granite Falls; Judah Shirley, jr., Cedar Park Christian; John Hollinrake, sr., King’s; Nathan Honold, soph., Sultan; Kobe Moorhead, sr., Archbishop Murphy

Tight end: Payton Nelson, sr., Cedar Park Christian

Defensive backs: Atley Shapiro, sr., King’s; Brayden Haefele, soph., Sultan; Rwehabura Munyagi, sr., Archbishop Murphy; Jake Fowler, sr., Cedarcrest

Linebackers: Aidan Fleming, soph., Sultan; Dawson Drews, jr., Cedar Park Christian; Logan Perrigo, sr., King’s; Seth Harris, jr., Granite Falls

Defensive linemen: Kaleb Dennis, sr., Sultan; Bradley Cumley, sr., Cedar Park Christian; Avery Hamman, jr., King’s; Zion Robinson, soph., Archbishop Murphy

Kicker: Bradley Cumley, sr., Cedar Park Christian

Punters: Ben Hines, sr., Archbishop Murphy; Aaron Davenport, sr., Cedarcrest

Girls soccer

Offensive MVPKatie Stella, sr., King’s

Defensive MVP: Spencer Wirkkala, sr., Granite Falls

Coach of the Year: Terry Swanson, South Whidbey

First team

Forwards: Dayana Diaz, sr., Granite Falls; Sarah Hommas, jr., Cedarcrest; Lexi Klaudt, jr., Archbishop Murphy

Midfielders: Grace Rinaldi, soph., Granite Falls: Emma Fleming, sr., King’s; Gabrielle Koch, jr., Archbishop Murphy; Piper Parish, jr., Cedarcrest

Defenders: Lauren Landis, sr., Sultan; Emma Culberson, jr., King’s; Kylie Thomas, sr., Cedarcrest; Trinity Campbell, sr., Cedarcrest

Goalkeeper: Amanda McKay, soph., Sultan

Second team

Forwards: Allison Papritz, soph., South Whidbey; Kirstin Nutley, sr., Cedar Park Christian; Sidra Griffin, fr., Cedarcrest; Mikayla Hezel, sr., South Whidbey

Midfielders: Sarah Nielsen, jr., King’s; Gabriela Schmeising, soph., Granite Falls; Brooke Benson, jr., Cedarcrest; Tia Asher, jr., Archbishop Murphy

Defenders: Daesha Smith, jr., Granite Falls; Emily Schwartz, jr., Archbishop Murphy; Dominique Gadbois, soph., Granite Falls; Kate Hickox, sr., Cedarcrest

Goalkeeper: Dakota Barnes, sr., Cedarcrest


MVPTessa Foley, sr., King’s,

Coach of the Year: Jeff Fransen, King’s

First team

Outside hitters: Claire Doud, jr., Archbishop Murphy; Allison Hansen, soph., King’s; Kolby Heggenes, sr., South Whidbey; Dominque Kirton, jr., King’s; Emma Leggett, jr., South Whidbey

Libero: Elle Mason, sr., King’s

Setter: Bailey Todd, sr., South Whidbey

Second team

Outside hitters: Ana Calabig, sr., Cedar Park Christian; Taeler Gerde, jr., Cedarcrest; Baily McCutchen, jr., King’s

Middle hitters: Sydney Jones, sr., King’s; Megan Miller, sr., South Whidbey

Liberos: Angelina Wilson, jr., South Whidbey; Payten Bradley, sr., Archbishop Murphy

Boys cross country

First team: Joshua Rauvola, sr., Archbishop Murphy; Grant Van Valkenburg, sr., Cedarcrest; Ben Benson, sr., Cedarcrest; Cameron Chew, sr., King’s; Isaac Cortes, soph., Granite Falls; Emmet Klaiber, sr., Cedarcrest; Aiden Holm, sr., Granite Falls

Second team: Callahan Yale, jr., South Whidbey; Colby Crispeno, soph., King’s; Bryce Hefner, jr., Cedarcrest; Anthony Hart, jr., King’s; Ryan LaTurner, jr., Cedarcrest; Justin Young, sr., Cedarcrest; Brady Shaw, soph., Cedarcrest

Girls cross country

First team: Naomi Smith, soph., Kings; Elsie Dombek, soph., Cedarcrest; Kaia Swegler Richmond, fr., South Whidbey; Allison Perrow, sr., King’s; Kelly Hall, sr., Cedarcrest; Megan Dorney, sr., Archbishop Murphy; Alicia Krivanek, sr., Cedarcrest

Second team: Kate Vergillo, sr., Cedarcrest; Jenae McInnes, soph., King’s; Greta Gunning, jr., King’s; Mary Cate Babcock, sr., Cedarcrest; Alexandra Kurtz, jr., South Whidbey; Clara Wiederholt, soph., Archbishop Murphy; Aryia Farnworth, fr., Cedarcrest


Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.