Petso to head 2013 City Council

I’m honored by the appointment to serve
By Pat Ratliff | Jan 10, 2013
Lora Petso

Lora Petso is the new Edmonds City Council president for 2013. Adrienne Fraley-Monillas will serve as council president pro tem for the year.

Petso is in her third term on councilmember having been elected to the position in 2000 and 2012 and appointed by the council to fill a vacant seat in 2010. She was unanimously elected to the council president post.

“I’m honored by the appointment to serve, and I’m looking forward to it.” Petso said.

Just hours after being elected, Petso is already busy.

“I’m 100 percent focused on putting together a council retreat,” she said.

“Everyone wanted an early February retreat so we could get on with our plans for the year.”

Petso also made the 2013 council committee appointments, which include councilmembers Diane Buckshnis and  Kristiana Johnson on the Planning/Parks/Public Works committee; councilmembers Adrienne Fraley-Monillas and Frank Yamamoto on the Finance committee; and councilmembers Strom Peterson and Joan Bloom on the Public Safety/Personnel committee.

Other council committee appointments include:


Frank Yamamoto – Community Technology Advisory Committee; SNOCOM; Port of Edmonds; Seashore Transportation Forum 2013; and Snohomish County Tomorrow.


Diane Buckshnis – Economic Development Commission; Snohomish County Tomorrow; and Salmon Recovery – WRIA 8.


Adrienne Fraley-Monillas – City-wide Parking Committee; Disability Board; Highway 99 Task Force; and Snohomish Health District.

Kristiana Johnson – Community Transit; Highway 99 Task Force; and Historic Preservation Commission.


Strom Peterson – City-wide Parking Committee; PDF Oversight Committee, PDF Task Force; Regional Fire Authority; and Lake Ballinger Work Group.


Joan Bloom – Disability Board; Lodging Tax Advisory Committee; and Tree Board Liaison.


Lora Petso – PDF Task Force; Regional Fire Authority; and  Historic Preservation Commission.


Mayor Dave Earling – Regional Fire Authority; and Community Transit.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.